Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Peter R. Bannon

  • Professor Emeritus of Atmospheric Science
(814) 863-1309
bannon@ems.psu.edu

Alfred K. Blackadar, (Deceased - January 17, 2015)

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology

Craig F. Bohren

  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
cfb@psu.edu

John J. Cahir

  • Professor of Meteorology and
  • Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education, Emeritus
jjc2@psu.edu

Toby N. Carlson

  • Professor of Meteorology Emeritus
(814) 863-1582
tnc@psu.edu

Carl R. Chelius

  • Assistant Professor, Retired
crc1@psu.edu

John H. E. Clark

  • Associate Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
j6c@psu.edu

John Diercks

  • Retired Professor of Meteorology
jdw9@psu.edu

John A. Dutton

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
  • Dean Emeritus, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
dutton@ems.psu.edu

William M. Frank

  • Professor Emeritus of Tropical Meteorology
wmf3@psu.edu

Alistair B. Fraser

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology

J. Michael Fritsch

  • Distinguished Professor of Meteorology Emeritus
jmf6@psu.edu

Lee Grenci

  • Retired Senior Lecturer in Meteorology
lxg17@psu.edu

Charles L. Hosler

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
  • Senior Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School Emeritus
hosler@ems.psu.edu

Paul G. Knight

  • Retired
  • Senior Lecturer in Meteorology
  • Weather World Host, Feature Writer & Producer
  • Pennsylvania State Climatologist
pgk2@psu.edu

Dennis Lamb

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
lno@psu.edu

Nelson L. Seaman

  • Professor of Meteorology
seaman@ems.psu.edu

Hampton N. Shirer

  • Associate Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
  • Associate Dean Emeritus for Education, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
hns@psu.edu

David R. Stauffer

  • Research Professor of Meteorology
(814) 863-3932
drs8@psu.edu

Dennis W. Thomson

  • Professor of Meteorology Emeritus
thomson@ems.psu.edu

David W. Titley

  • Professor of Practice, Department of Meteorology
  • Director, Center for Solutions to Weather and Climate Risk
  • Professor, School of International Affairs
(814) 867-4750
dwt12@psu.edu

John C. Wyngaard

  • Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
  • Joint appointment with the Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Joint appointment with the GeoEnvironmental Engineering Program
wyngaard@ems.psu.edu