Zhang and Weng win American Meteorological Society's 2014 Banner Miller Award

Congratulations Drs. Fuqing Zhang and Yonghui Weng!

2014 Banner I. Miller

The Banner I. Miller Award is presented to Drs. Fuqing Zhang, Yonghui Weng, John Gamache and Frank Marks “For valuable insights into incorporating real-time airborne Doppler radar measurements via ensemble data assimilation, leading to improvements in forecasts of tropical cyclone track and intensity”

The Banner I. Miller Award is presented for an outstanding contribution to the science of hurricane and tropical weather forecasting published in a journal with international circulation during the 48 months prior to the deadline for nominations. The award is presented at each Conference on Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology. Recommendations are prepared by the STAC Committee on Tropical Meteorology and Tropical Cyclones.